Personal Style: Ruffle Skirts

For countries going into their summer season currently – you can expect to be seeing a lot of ruffles, poplins, stripes and gingham prints on the streets lately. With my personal favorite being the gingham ruffle skirts.

I literally searched for this specific skirt for about a month, after I came across a red and white version of it on the Internet. I spent countless hours on Taobao looking for a black and white version of it. Eventually, after connecting with a few local fashionistas to find about hidden gems around the city for trendy items – I managed to find the skirt, and it was exactly what I wanted and it was worth all that admin and effort I had to go through. My heart was really set on this skirt and I just couldn’t let go.

The skirt is a black and white gingham print, asymmetrical cut, with buttons on one side.

So, some ruffle skirts can be quite tricky to style, but I always theme all my looks before I do the actual shoot – and for this one, I themed it “Easy Elegance”.

In the first look, I have matched the skirt with a white slogan T-shirt, satin neck scarf and white pumps.

The second look, is the same except that I have switched up the look by pairing it with block heel boots – to show some versatility since we’re still transitioning from winter.

Ruffle skirt: Shelanna @ Taobao
White slogan T- shirt: GU
White pumps: Zara
Block heel boots: Zara
Satin scarf: Gert Johan Coetzee
Photography by Shannon Murphy @ LightTheArtPhotography 

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑